Breaking News:
Association News

Tickets On Sale Now for National Sailing Awards

Tickets for the 2022 National Sailing Awards are on sale now. The event – set to recognise distinguished members of the Australian Sailing community – will be held at the stunning Australian National Maritime Museum in Sydney on Friday November 4, 2022.

Each year the Australian Sailing Awards recognise the achievements and acknowledge the contribution of members of our sailing community. This year’s event will be no different, with the national evening set to celebrate more than thirty finalists from all around the country.

Winners from fifteen different categories will be announced on the night, including Male and Female Sailor of the Year, Sailor of the Year with a Disability, Volunteer of the Year and Club of the Year.

Past winners include the likes of Olympic champions Mat Belcher, Will Ryan and Tom Slingsby, as well as Nacra 17 star Lisa Darmanin.

Each ticket to the Australian Sailing Awards includes a three course dinner and drinks, as well as access to the full awards procession live and in-person for the first time since 2019. To purchase your ticket, please click here.

Key dates for this year’s process include:

State Winners announced: August and September
National Finalists announced: Tuesday 4 October
National Winners announced: Friday 4 November at the Australian Sailing Awards and Hall of Fame Induction Dinner (Australian National Maritime Museum)

Please note that nominations for the 2022 Australian Sailing Awards are now closed. Nominations will first be judged for their relevant State Awards, with the winning nominations from the State Awards then put forward as nominees to the judging panel of the National Australian Sailing Awards.

Information on the State Awards evenings yet to occur can be found below. If yours is not listed, please contact the relevant staff member for your state.

Western Australia – Thursday 29th September, Mounts Bay Sailing Club

Australian Sailing Awards are broken down in to the following categories:

Individual Award Categories

  • Male Sailor of the Year
  • Female Sailor of the Year
  • Para Sailor of the Year
  • Youth Sailor of the Year
  • Offshore Sailor of the Year
  • Coach of the Year

Club Award Categories

  • Club of the Year
  • Instructor of the Year
  • Official of the Year
  • Volunteer of the Year

Sport Award Categories

  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • SheSails Award
  • Sport Professional Award
  • Sport Promotion Award
  • Sustainability Award