Breaking News:

Nominations for NSW Maritime Medal now open

About the NSW Maritime Medal

The NSW Maritime Medal is awarded for outstanding and sustained contributions by individuals or organisations to the maritime community in NSW. The award presents the opportunity to highlight the importance of safe and responsible boating practices, and encourage safe boating participation in communities across NSW.

The NSW Maritime Medal is awarded every two years by the Minister . The nomination process is managed by the Centre for Maritime Safety with the Maritime Medal Selection Committee comprising of Maritime Advisory Council members as well as TfNSW representatives.

David Lyall and Minister for Roads, Maritime and Freight Duncan Gay (2015)

Nomination process and eligibility

Nominations for the 2023 Maritime Medal are now open.

Eligible nominees can be either a person or group who demonstrate an outstanding and sustained effort or contribution to improve the safety or marine environment for the benefit of the boating or maritime community in NSW.

All nominations are to be submitted via email (only) and will be open from 1 May until 12 June 2023.

To submit your nomination:

  1. Download and fill out the Maritime Medal Nomination Form (PDF, 150.23 KB).
  2. Return via email to and include ‘NSW Maritime Medal – Nomination’ as the subject.
  3. Return your nomination by the closing date (Monday 12 June 2023).

The NSW Maritime Medal will be awarded during the Sydney International Boat Show.

NSW Maritime Medallists for 2021

Ian Baker – Safety Medal

Ian Baker was the recipient of the Safety Medal as part of the NSW Maritime Medals for 2021. This award recognises Ian’s outstanding and sustained effort in promoting safety for the maritime community of NSW.

Ian has been a devoted volunteer with Marine Rescue NSW for more than 45 years. His role as operational Search and Rescue Support Officer and Coxswain has seen Ian participate in more than 400 rescues, he has also served in every unit role within Marine Rescue NSW and earned the respect of everyone he has volunteered with, including members he mentors.

As part of his volunteer work, Ian also runs boat licence and radio courses for the public as well as courses for Marine Rescue NSW members. Ian’s passion for boat safety does not stop there and he devotes entire weekends to conducting training or rostered boat duty as a skipper.

Ian’s professionalism, dedication and extensive maritime safety expertise continue to inspire other volunteers to maintain and extend their skills and knowledge in maritime safety for the benefit of the wider community.

Eric Taylor – Community Medal

Eric Taylor was the recipient of the Community Medal as part of the NSW Maritime Medals for 2021. A Transport for NSW Boating Safety Officer and long-time volunteer with several community organisations, this award recognises Eric’s outstanding and sustained contribution to the boating and maritime community.

Eric has made significant contributions to maritime safety in regional Australia, including a combined 30 years’ involvement with events, including water ski racing, Royal Flying Doctor Service paddle events and Scouting events, demonstrating his longstanding continued efforts for his community.

Eric began working for NSW Maritime in Sydney in 1977 and transferred to Mildura in northwest Victoria in 1992 where he was the only NSW Maritime representative in the area with the responsibility of the Murray River and Darling River.

The region which Eric patrols is the largest in NSW and this poses unique but significant challenges such as remoteness and extreme conditions. For more than 45 years Eric has displayed incredible leadership, irreplaceable knowledge, mentorship of colleagues, dedication to training the public in water safety, and all-round positive attitude.

Eric was previously awarded the Roads and Maritime Services Integrity Award for his significant oversight of a paddle boat salvage operation on the Murray River in 2015 and the NSW Service Medallion for more than 40 years’ meritorious service to the NSW Government in 2018.

Past recipients

2019 – Colin McQueen – Community

2017 – Mike Jarvin – Community

2017 – Chris Mitchell – Safety

2015 – Captain Tim Swales – Community

2015 – David Lyall – Community

2015 – Peter Hunter – Safety

2014 – Clive Wilson – Safety

2014 – Robert Basham – Community

2014 – Greg McNeill – Education

2011 – Ballina Jet Boat Surf Rescue – Community

2011 – Peter Phillip – Community

2011 – Rear Admiral (ret) Tony Hunt AO – Community

2011 – Michael O’Connor – Safety

2010 – Alan Lucas – Community and Safety

2010 – Neil Grieves – Community and Safety

2010 – George Tedds – Community and Safety

2010 – Bob Dyer – Community, Safety and Environment

2010 – John Winning – Community

2010 – Volunteers of the Sydney Heritage Fleet – Community

2010 – Broken Hill Speed Boat Club – Community

2009 – Bill Joselin – Community

2009 – Andy Munns – Community

2009 – Ronald Thomson – Community

2009 – Commodore Michael Stringer – Community

2009 – John McCloskey – Community

2009 – Robert Albert – Community

2009 – John Garaty – Community and Environment

2009 – AVCP Squadron Commodore Bruce Mitchell – Community, Safety and Environment

2009 – Kenneth Fletcher – Safety

2009 – Patricia Fayers – Safety

2009 – Norm George Smith – Safety

2007/08 – Ron Isaacs – Community

2007/08 – Paul Helmore – Community

2007/08 – David Johnston – Community

2007/08 – William Arthur Dreckmeyer – Safety

2007/08 – Norman Muir Grant – Safety

2007/08 – Matthew O’Grady – Community and Safety

2007/08 – Shoalhaven Marine Rescue Assoc – Community and Safety

2006 – Captain Ken Edwards – Community

2006 – Timothy Hone – Community

2006 – Keith Horne – Community

2006 – George Neilson – Community

2006 – Ronald Young – Community

2006 – David Pescud – Community

2006 – Ian Kiernan – Environment

2006 – Royal Volunteer Coastal Patrol Ulladulla Division – Safety

2006 – Geoffrey Shelton – Safety

2006 – Robert Toyer – Safety

2006 – Stuart McKenzie – Safety

2006 – Bob and Janet Foster – Safety and Community

2006 – Robert Goodacre – Safety and Community

2006 – Peter Goadby – Safety, Community and Environment

2006 – Lady Wakehurst crew – Safety, Community and Environment